Glass Feathers: for alto saxophone and electronics

Monty Adkins (Composer), Paulina E. Sundin (Composer)

Research output: Non-textual formComposition


Glass Feathers was commissioned by Stockholm Arts Council for Jörgen Pettersson and co-composed with Paulina Sundin. The work comprises five movements 1) Cortege 2) Shadow Flight 3) Lament 4) Reminiscence 5) Anima. Glass Feathers is both a celebration of life and a recognition of its fragility. The work comprises five parts that form an imaginary rite. The electronics act in the manner of a Greek chorus that provides comment or a musical refraction of the virtuosity of the solo alto saxophone. The work builds from a small number of pitch cells and multiphonics based on these. As the work progresses these pitch cells are stretched, refracted, and developed representing the journey and vicissitudes of life.
Original languageEnglish
Size30 minutes
Publication statusPublished - 24 Nov 2023

Cite this