Intercountry abduction in Africa

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterpeer-review


Africa, a continent spanning 55 member states, differs vastly in legal history, language and migration patterns (such as the number of nationals abroad). Very broadly speaking, in relation to international child abduction, this chapter distinguishes French-speaking Africa and English-speaking Africa. Eleven states in Africa have ratified the 1980 Hague Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction (hereafter the Convention): Burkina Faso, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Lesotho, Mauritius, Morocco, South Africa, Seychelles, Tunisia, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Zimbabwe has yet to properly designate a Central Authority, although the HCCH website gives the role to the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Justice and Legal Affairs. Information about Gabon and Lesotho is also scant, with no personal contact details of a functionary provided on the HCCH website.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationResearch Handbook on International Child Abduction
Subtitle of host publicationThe 1980 Hague Convention
EditorsMarilyn Freeman, Nicola Taylor
PublisherEdward Elgar Publishing Ltd.
Number of pages14
ISBN (Electronic)9781800372511
ISBN (Print)978180037250
Publication statusAccepted/In press - 2023

Publication series

NameResearch Handbooks in Family Law series
PublisherEdward Elgar Publishing


Dive into the research topics of 'Intercountry abduction in Africa'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this