International child abduction in Africa

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterpeer-review


In Africa, a continent spanning 55 countries, only 11 States have ratified the 1980 Hague Convention: Burkina Faso, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Lesotho, Mauritius, Morocco, South Africa, Seychelles, Tunisia, Zambia, and Zimbabwe (which has yet to properly designate a Central Authority). With the exception of South Africa, there is almost no Convention literature or case law in Africa, and information on the practical application of the Convention is scant, if available at all. However, there is a rich jurisprudence from South Africa which has experienced an arguably high proportion of incoming and returning cases. Much more needs to be done to boost the active participation of the ten other African Convention countries, and to encourage the 44 countries not currently part of the Convention to become so.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationResearch Handbook on International Child Abduction
Subtitle of host publicationThe 1980 Hague Convention
EditorsMarilyn Freeman, Nicola Taylor
PublisherEdward Elgar Publishing Ltd.
Number of pages14
ISBN (Electronic)9781800372511
ISBN (Print)9781800372504
Publication statusPublished - 15 Jun 2023

Publication series

NameResearch Handbooks in Family Law series
PublisherEdward Elgar Publishing


Dive into the research topics of 'International child abduction in Africa'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this