Splintered Echoes

Monty Adkins (Composer), Paulina Sundin (Composer), Jonny Axelsson (Composer)

Research output: Non-textual formComposition


This work is the result of an extended period of research investigating how the work of William Sethares can be implemented in electroacoustic composition. Software has been constructed in Max/MSP by Adrian Gierakowski directed by Paulina Sundin that enables an spectrum analysis of sound files to be created. Scales of the most significant partials are then extracted. The software enables scales to be transposed onto any existing scale step as well as morphed on to a different scale from a different analysis. A series of live tools have then been constructed to enable the performance and live electronic manipulation of these elements.

The composition of the work took the form of a series of improvisations held at EMS Stockholm in February 2014. As a result the harmonic and large-scale formal progression of the piece is fixed. There are five movements based around the spectrum of i) a drum ii) a low bell iii) temple block iv) a gong and v) a combination of gong and drum spectrums. The moment to moment progression of the piece is improvised. The overall shape of specific movements has been discussed in advance, however, there is no score for the percussion. Axelsson both leads the electronics through his gestures and is able to respond to what results from the transformations presented by Sundin and Adkins.
Original languageEnglish
PublisherHuddersfield Contemporary Records
Media of outputCD
Publication statusPublished - Feb 2014


Dive into the research topics of 'Splintered Echoes'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this